What Year Did Each Bridgerton Sibling Get Married In Books? The Definitive Order

What Year Did Each Bridgerton Sibling Get Married In Books? The Definitive Order
Image credit: Netflix

The show will have to change both the dates and the order of the Bridgerton weddings.

So far, the events of Julia Quinn's hit romance series Bridgerton and its Netflix adaptation have followed roughly the same chronological pattern. In Season 3, however, the show will stray far from the canonical timeframe, and that might actually be a good thing.

You see, Quinn's Bridgerverse timeline can be confusing at times. Especially when it comes to the book year 1824. In that year, three titular siblings find their perfect match and get married within one month. What a stunner!

But let's not get ahead of ourselves and see when exactly each of the Bridgerton siblings had their weddings in the novels.

Bridgerton Wedding Dates

Thanks to eagle-eyed Bridgerton fans, we have the definitive order.

  • May 1813 – Daphne Bridgerton & Simon Basset, Duke of Hastings
  • May 1814 – Anthony Bridgerton & Katharine ‘Kate’ Sheffield
  • June 1817 – Benedict Bridgerton & Sophia ‘Sophie’ Beckett
  • Spring 1818 – Francesca Bridgerton & John Stirling, 8th Earl of Kilmartin (deceased)
  • Early May 1824 – Colin Bridgerton & Penelope Featherington
  • Late May 1824 – Francesca Bridgerton & Michael Stirling, 9th Earl of Kilmartin
  • Early June 1824 (three days after Francesca’s wedding) – Eloise Bridgerton & Sir Phillip Crane
  • July 1825 – Hyacinth Bridgerton & Gareth St. Clair
  • July 1827 – Gregory Bridgerton & Lady Lucinda ‘Lucy’ Abernathy

Confusing Overlaps

As you can see, the events of Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Book 4, Colin's story), To Sir Phillip, With Love (Book 5, Eloise's story), and When He Was Wicked (Book 6, Francesca's story) overlap. The same things are shown from different perspectives, which makes many readers scratch their heads.

For example, in Francesca's book, she talks about Penelope as if she weren't married, even though Miss Featherington became Bridgerton two books ago. In Eloise's book, right after her marriage to Phillip, she refers to Francesca as a widow and never mentions a second husband.

None of these are plot holes, and easily explained by the fact that the events of all three books take place in the same spring of 1824, and Francesca lives in Scotland, where news travels slowly. Still, the Netflix show creators will be doing viewers a favor by changing the order and dates of the Bridgerton weddings.

Show vs. Books

While Daphne and Anthony got their happily-ever-after around the same dates as in their respective books, we already know that Bridgerton Season 3 will not be about Benedict and Sophie's love story, but will instead focus on Colin and Penelope.

At the same time, the showrunners decided to maintain the continuity of the timeline and set the upcoming chapter during the social season of 1815, which makes both leads much younger than their book counterparts and moves their wedding almost a decade back.

More than that, judging by the promo images, we can assume that Francesca will make her social debut in Season 3, hinting at her first wedding to John and placing it three years earlier than in the books.

As for the rest of the siblings, we can't say for sure how the timelines of their arcs will be altered for the adaptation. But it looks like the showrunners are adamant about maintaining the continuity of the Netflix Bridgerverse. So we can expect either Benedict or Eloise to tie the knot in 1816 when Season 4 arrives.

Bridgerton Season 3 lands on Netflix in two four-episode parts on May 16 and June 13, 2024.

Who do you think Bridgerton Season 4 will revolve around?