Can You Name Every Dragon In House Of The Dragon And Who Rides Them?

Can You Name Every Dragon In House Of The Dragon And Who Rides Them?
Image credit: HBO

The full list of Targaryen's fire-breathing pets.

House of the Dragon Season 2 is set to land on Max in the summer of 2024, almost two years after the premiere of Season 1. We can't help but be excited about the upcoming epic tale, especially after the first-look teaser released earlier this month.

The Targaryen civil war, which was set in motion by the events of the first season, will break out in the new episodes and become a turning and particularly tragic point in the history of the Seven Kingdoms. After all, the conflict is called the Dance of the Dragons, and there is no war more bloody than a war between dragons.

Even from the short teaser, it is clear that the flying beasts will be the main players in the conflict between the Greens and the Blacks. But do you remember them all?

All Targaryen & Velaryon Dragons

While Drogon, Rhaegal, and Viserion from Game of Thrones are the names absolutely everyone knows, the prequel to the iconic fantasy drama features a much larger selection of dragons, as it takes place during the time when House Targaryen was actively taming the fire-breathing beasts found in the wild.

If you can't name all the Targaryen pets and who rides them, don't worry, we're here to provide you with a comprehensive list.

  1. Syrax (Rhaenyra Targaryen) - There's no doubt that the majestic golden creature we see first in the premiere season will play a major role in the coming war. After all, she is ridden by the future Queen of the Seven Kingdoms.

  2. Caraxes (Daemon Targaryen) - The black and red dragon, nicknamed the Blood Wyrm, is set to wreak havoc on the green army.

  3. Vhagar (Laena Velaryon/Aemond Targaryen) - The largest and oldest dragon in Westeros, Vhagar has already proven to be a powerful weapon in the hands of the Greens. More heart-stopping scenes with Vhagar and Aemond are on the way.

  4. Meleys (Rhaenys Targaryen) - After her epic appearance at the coronation of King Aegon II, Meleys, known as the Red Queen, and her rider, Princess Rhaenys, have become fan favorites.

  5. Seasmoke (Laenor Velaryon) - We still don't know who became the new rider of the pale gray dragon after Rhaenyra's first husband ran away.

  6. Dreamfyre (Helaena Targaryen) - We don't see Helaena's dragon too closely, but she is a legendary one. There is a theory that Daenerys' eggs in Game of Thrones may have been laid by Dreamfyre.

  7. Sunfyre (Aegon Targaryen) - We haven't seen the golden dragon that belongs to the newly-coronated King Aegon II, but he will undoubtedly appear in Season 2.

  8. Vermax (Jacaerys Velaryon) - Rhaenyra's eldest son Jace and his dragon have bonded since they were both babies.

  9. Arrax (Lucerys Velaryon) - Sadly, we'll never see Arrax and his rider alive again, as they were killed by Vhagar in the Season 1 finale.

  10. Tyraxes (Joffrey Velaryon) - Rhaenyra's son is too young to ride a dragon, but the beast has already been chosen for him, as Daemon mentioned. Hopefully we will meet the dragon in Season 2.

  11. Moondancer (Baela Targaryen) - Baela's dragon hasn't appeared on screen yet either, but she was mentioned in Season 1.

  12. Vermithor (King Jahaerys Targaryen) - The huge wild beast that Daemon is trying to tame at the end of Season 1 is known as the Bronze Fury and once belonged to Rhaenrya's great-grandfather.

  13. Balerion (Aegon the Conqueror) - The impressive skull in the crypt belongs to the dragon once ridden by Aegon the Conqueror himself. Nicknamed the Black Dread, he played a major role in the Targaryen conquest of Westeros.

  14. Unclaimed Dragons - Daemon says in the final episode that there are several unclaimed dragons nesting on Dragonstone. The source book gives us their names: Cannibal, Grey Ghost, Sheepstealer, and Silverwing. Who knows, maybe these four will play important roles in the Dance of the Dragons.